Dr Ashish Malik M.D, MBA, Fellowship Liver Transplant (LHSC, Ontario) is presently working as Senior Consultant Indraprastha Apollo Hospital, New Delhi, India. He has been working in the field of anesthesiology and critical care since year 2000 having at present an experience of 16 1/2 years post – qualification. As a Senior Consultant working in Liver Transplant Anesthesia Team his job responsibilities are: Preoperative evaluation of donor and liver transplant patients, intraoperative management, critical care and postoperative pain management. He has till date given anesthesia to 502 liver transplant patients as an independent consultant. His key focus of work is Liver Transplant Anesthesia and Critical Care. He has helped develop liver transplant fellowship programme in his department. He is involved in training of Liver Transplant Anesthesia Fellows / DNB students since 2014 started by Department of Anesthesiology and Critical care in Apollo Delhi.


Some of his publications include:

  • Article on ‘Anesthesia for Laser Surgery in ENT and various ventilator techniques’ in Trends in Anesthesia and Critical Care 2011.
  • Anesthesia for living related liver transplant, Indian Journal of Transplantation, 2011.
  • Article on ‘Hemodynamic changes in Thoracoscopic Sympathectomy using Right Sided or Left Sided approach first’ in Surgical Endoscopy, August 2013.
  • Letter to the Editor Postoperative diabetes insipidus in liver transplantation – a case report. IJA 2019; 63:497-8.


He is currently the Governing Council Member (Anesthesia and Critical care) Liver Transplant Society of India (LTSI) 2018-2020.  (1st Pan India Society of Liver Transplant Specialists).


His achievements include:

  • Academic Achievement Award 2012 and 2014 by Apollo Hospitals Education and Research Foundation (AHERF).
  • Best employee award 2015. Apollo Hospitals.
  • Title of Distinguished Clinical Tutor by AHERF / Apollo Hospitals. 2018
  • Reviewer Transplantation Journal.
  • Best Clinician Award in Apollo Group of Hospitals, India. 2018.